Practical Backpacking™ Forums

Welcome to Practical Backpacking™ Forums (PBF).

You are currently viewing PBF as a guest which has limited access. By becoming a PBF member, you will have full access to view and participate in tens of thousands of informative discussions, to view links and attachments (photos), and will gain access to other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free! Click to Become a PBF Member! Be sure to also explore the Practical Backpacking Podcast.

Go Back   Practical Backpacking™ Forums > Practical Backpacking™ Gear Discussion > Sleeping Gear
HOME Register FAQ PBF GUIDELINES BLOG PODCAST GALLERY STORE CALENDAR Mark Forums Read

Sleeping Gear The Sleeping Gear forum is for the discussion of sleeping gear (bags, mats, quilts...).

Old 08-12-2014, 12:57 PM
© 2006-2016 Practical Backpacking™ / All Rights Reserved
Practical Backpacking™ Regular Member

Pushing The Limits of a Sleeping Bag

I have a 40+ degree goose down bag (700 fill) that I have been using for about 9 months now. I've used it 3 or 4 times in the local state parks during spring and summer months where the temps don't get much lower than 50 to 60 degrees. I'm perfectly comfortable at these temps in shorts and short sleeve base layers with this set up and under these conditions.

I'm going for a short 3 day trip next week to Desolation Wilderness near Lake Tahoe (Sierra Nevada mountains). Altitude is around 7,500 feet and night time temps are in the mid 40's.

I'm planning to have a down sweater, lightweight rain pants and jacket, base layer, LS shirt and long pants (for the nights and in case of rain), cap and wool socks.

Do you think I will be pushing the limits of a 40+ degree bag in temps down to 40 degrees, if I also have the option to wear a down sweater, rain gear, etc?

I'm guessing this is not an issue, but checking to see how far you all have pushed your bag ratings.

Thank you in advance for your comments.
Please Consider PBF Sponsors